Sign up for a Q Membership and start saving

Keep up to date with the latest news from the Q

The Q

National Capital Orchestra presents


24 Mar 24

The Q

All Ages

The first concert in NCO’s 2024 Visions season, featuring Prokofiev, Stravinsky, and works by two local composers!


24 March 2024



The Q

Running time

90 mins, incl. 20 minute interval


Latecomers will be admitted after the first piece has concluded.


$30 – $55

Concession tickets must show ID

Under 30$35
Full-time student$30
Under 16$30




The first concert by the National Capital Orchestra in its 2024 Visions season, under the baton of Music Director Louis Sharpe, features works by two Canberra composers. It opens with Starry Night Over Ubud by Thomas McConochie, a member of the NCO French horn section. Inspired by Balinese gamelan music, this work demonstrates the wide diversity of talent within the NCO.

Violinist Mia Stanton then joins the orchestra for the Violin Concerto No. 2 by Sergei Prokofiev. The concerto starts with a simple violin melody related to traditional Russian folk music. The melody flows through the second movement while the third movement has a hint of Spanish influence, with castanets accompanying the theme each time it reappears.

The second half of the concert starts with the Etude in C Sharp Minor by Aleksandr Scriabin arranged by Canberra composer Sally Greenaway.

The final work is the Suite from the Firebird Ballet by Igor Stravinski. The six movements, in numerous keys, including the ‘Infernal Dance’, allow the orchestra to demonstrate its full capabilities.